Building Aboriginal Literacy (2006)

Share Your Language, Share Your Culture

The Northwest Territories has eleven official languages -- nine of these are Aboriginal. To maintain and revitalize these languages, it's important for children to learn their language. This booklet will help families support language development within the family. The activities are simple and can be part of everyday living.

The Northwest Territories Literacy Council adapted these activities from materials that Harnum & Associates prepared for the GNWT. The GNWT's Early Childhood Development Framework for Action funded this project.

Get resource
APA citation
NWT Literacy Council. Building Aboriginal Literacy 2006. Web. 2 Dec. 2022 <>
NWT Literacy Council (2006). Building Aboriginal Literacy. Retrieved December 2, 2022, from
© 2022 Copian Library